Building Blocks for Orphans

When I was a girl, I would often go to my mom in fear saying, “What if God sends me to Africa?!  I don’t want to go to Africa!”  My mom would comfort me by saying not to worry about it and if God sends me to Africa, He’d give me the heart to go…  Well, God has given me a heart for the orphans of Africa.  I think he was preparing me way back then.  Even though I’m still a bit fearful, my heart is excited!

For over a year, God has whispered in my ear and now shouting, “building blocks for orphans…Building Blocks for Orphans…BUILDING BLOCKS FOR ORPHANS!”

A year and a half ago, I participated in a Big Give through our church. Instead of the church taking up an offering, everyone received an envelope with money in it, ranging anywhere from a dollar a person to $100.  Our Pastor preached a sermon on The Parable of the Talents (Matthew 25:14-28) challenging us to invest our money in a creative way, causing it to grow, and coming back in a month to give toward the many missions our church supports with our multiplied monies.  (By the way, we raised over one million dollars toward local and foreign missions!)

Between my husband and I, we received two dollars.  After much contemplation on how to multiply two dollars  in a months time, I settled on a craft that would require purchasing a two dollar 2x2x8 foot board.  I knew making this craft and selling it would work, as we had mass-produced it in a MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) group several years before.

After my husband cut the boards into blocks, I sanded, painted, sanded some more (for that rustic look) and stamped letters.  (I’ve found a simpler way since then!)  With a little help from my friends, I made Thanksgiving and Christmas themed blocks, sold them, and made over $400.

$20.00 ($2.00 a block)

$28.00 ($2.00 a block)

I was so thrilled to give! Our church supports a feeding center and orphanage in Uganda and Kenya.  All I could think about was helping those children.

A lot of life has happened since then but I keep thinking about those blocks, African orphans, and how God tells us to “look after orphans and widows in their distress…” James 1:27. I still feel compelled to do something!

After much thought and prayer, I’ve decided next summer to travel to Zambia, Africa to work in a week-long camp for Family Legacy Missions International. Week-long camps are held all throughout the summer for orphaned and vulnerable children in Zambia through Family Legacy’s Camp LIFE program.  I plan to attend with my dear friend, Kitty and her daughter, Elizabeth, who have already gone before me, with a couple of camps under their belt.

Camp LIFE brings Americans to Zambia to teach, lead, and show the love of Christ to the orphans of Zambia. The camp serves more than 10,000 orphans throughout the summer and around 500 American “Ambassadors” go to lead small groups of 10-20 kids.  I can’t wait!

In the next year, I will need to raise $4300.  Therefore, I will once again be making themed blocks through “Building Blocks for Orphans”.  I will make blocks for all holidays, kid’s names, sports themes, etc.

$14.00 ($2.00 a block)

$6.00 ($2.00 a block)

$12.00 ($2.00 a block)

If you would like to order a set of blocks to raise funds for helping orphans, the cost is $2 a block, therefore the cost will vary depending on the length of the word(s). Place your order by contacting me at the below information:

Ellen Humphries

281-345-0013

urock.mom@gmail.com

Personal check or cash is preferred but PayPal payment is available, if needed

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. You Rock Mom
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 12:06:37

    FYI. I will be working on some new home designs that say, “HOME”, “BLESSINGS”, “FAMILY”, “PRAY”….

    Reply

  2. You Rock Mom
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 17:15:34

    If you would like to mail a tax-deductible donation, make your check out to “FLMI” and put “Ellen Humphries Zambia 2011” in the memo. The address is: 5005 W Royal Lane, Suite 252, Irving, 75063.

    Thanks! Ellen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

