Accidental Cook

I consider myself an accidental cook, not like my husband who is a great cook, especially on the grill, smoker and camp fires.  He researches recipes and makes his own spices, experiments with BBQ rubs, sauces, and perfects recipes…

Most of my standby recipes are accidents that turned out delicious but nothing I researched out to perfect. For example, my banana bread recipe originated out of the cookbook that came with my bread machine which has a cake cycle; however, I no longer make it in the bread machine because the top never cooked all the way.

After I resorted to baking the bread in the oven, I also altered the recipe and added two of my favorite ingredients, vanilla and cinnamon. More often than not, I double the recipe because I usually have more than two ripe bananas and I share the wealth with friends.

Here’s the recipe for your eating pleasure:

AuntiEllen’s Accidentally Delicious Banana Bread!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray pan with cooking spray.

Wet ingredients:
1/2 c butter
2/3 c milk
2 lg eggs
1 tsp vanilla
Dry ingredients:
2 1/2 c flour (substitute 1 c flour w/wheat flour-I do when trying to be healthier)
1 c sugar
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
Add after all ingredients are mixed:
2 ripe bananas
1/2 c chopped nuts (optional–I don’t)

Mix butter and wet ingredients, including sugar. (When using wheat flour, I add my substitution here to soften the wheat flour). Slowly add dry ingredients until smooth. Mix in bananas until smooth. Bake approx. 50-60 min or until golden brown and toothpick comes out clean.  Your house will smell amazing.

If you can wait until it cools, try it with Nutella.

So accidentally delicious!

Leave a Reply

