You Rock!

One reason I started this blog is to feature moms who rock their world! I am personally inspired by moms (and dads–more on that later) who see a need around them and step out in faith to meet that need through means bigger than themselves. They respond out of passion because it’s a God-given passion, or often times, the response is personal because of something they’ve experienced. For example, the scripture in Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” In other words, God wastes nothing–the good, the bad, the ugly. And the things we wish never would have happened “God works for the good…”

I have started interviewing these types of moms who are just like you and me but have stepped out in faith to rock their world. I can’t wait to share their stories with you. If you are looking to reach out to a need this holiday season, I think you will find that need here. In fact, my Life Group, in our church, will be reaching out to one of these needs. Read on for inspiration and details on how you might meet a need yourself.

Today I will start with Jenn Simpson, Executive Director of Cypress Calling Ministries.

Jenn, tell me briefly about your ministry.

Cypress Calling Ministries is a non-profit organization that helps mothers in need through charitable and religious venues. We focus on teens and first time moms that have found themselves in crisis pregnancies. We equip and empower these women to focus on the positives in their life and encourage them to turn around a negative situation. Our most important goal is to prevent a subsequent crisis pregnancy. Our main avenue is through a support group where the women meet other women in the same situation, but we also have mentors to help them through their crisis and begin planning for their future. Mentors give each woman hope and love while teaching them to have faith. It is our mission to Share God’s faith, hope, and love to women in need.

Cypress Calling Ministries was birthed in the Spring of 2008, during a woman’s weekly Bible Study. As we prepared a basket full of baby goodies for a friend adopting a Chinese baby, we decided to also create a basket for a woman in need. Just a few months later, we hosted our first shower at a Crisis Pregnancy Center. Each shower thereafter helped us gain insight on how we wanted to run on our ministry and who the clients would be. In the Summer of 2009, we launched our first young mom support group. By the beginning of 2010, our support group was named Hopeful Choices and we focused on giving these young moms hope and teaching them they had choices.

It is our dream to create a safe haven for young moms in need. This dream includes helping each young woman with their past, present, and future. Through our support group we teach forgiveness, faith, and grace to help them move out of the crisis emotionally. We will also help them by providing a place to live, if needed, and having them work toward life’s necessities, as they are able. Lastly we will help them plan for their future by teaching them job skills that include finding the right job or school. We believe that by helping each woman in this way, we can prevent another crisis pregnancy.

What stirs righteous anger in you?

When people say they don’t have time to serve the Lord. I am the mother of three kids, three years old and under, with a husband who travels and I run a ministry… It mind boggles me when people can’t or won’t give a few hours a month to serve the Lord.

What brings you joy?

Gosh, there are so many things. People bring me the most joy. I am a people person. I love my husband and my kids more than I ever thought possible. I am overcome by joy watching my children interact with each other. Aside from that, entertaining and leading people brings a great amount of joy and with what little free time I have…scrapbooking brings me joy! Nothing quite like reliving the past through creatively placing pictures to paper!

What are your spiritual gifts?

About six or seven years ago, I was obsessed trying to figure this out…but God has made them very clear and put them to great use! I would say my gifts are leading women through Bible study and support groups. I am also an organized thinker and speaker. I think my creativity is put to good use in the ministry as well as my enjoyment of entertaining others!

What past experiences, both good and bad, have shown you about your purpose in life?

I was a teacher and I really did not like it. But, now I can see why God had me follow that path for a short time. It gave me the tools to create lessons and teach the young moms in my ministry and I LOVE doing that. I really had no idea that all I did (student council, elementary school teaching, preschool ministry and women’s Bible study) would equip me to successfully run a ministry. They were just stepping-stones.

Also, even though I work with girls in crisis pregnancies, I think my experience with infertility has given me a softer heart for these women. I am not angry at all that I struggled to get pregnant and they did not. I understand what it is like to want something and be thrown something completely different your way… It turns you to God and that is a beautiful thing!

If you had to write a purpose statement, what would it be?

Wow…I have never thought about this. I think I would have two… a personal one that involves my family and a professional one that involves my work for the Lord, but they sort of intertwine, so here it goes: I wish to be a faithful and obedient servant of the Lord as a wife and mother. I want to encourage and support my husband and children in all they aspire to do. I want to share my deep love and faith with all those around me so they can have as fulfilling of a life as I do.

What is a scripture verse that you cling to?

Philippians 4:6 is my favorite verse because through all the struggles of infertility, it was my Savior. I have found myself quoting it to others often! “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

How can I pray for you, as you fulfill your purpose?

I always need prayers for balance. Being a wife, a mother, and a ministry leader pulls at me all the time. Pray that I find the time to effectively do all three with the Lord’s help. Pray for patience and peace about the future.

And lastly, what are your needs?

Cypress Calling Ministries is looking for givers to bless a family this Christmas. Our teen moms and their children are in need of new clothes, jackets, shoes, pajamas, books, and dinners. Contact Staci Dauphine, Associate Director, if you want more information on how to bless these families: sdauphine@cypresscalling.com.

Also, we would like a place to call our own someday. It would need to have at least three rooms. One room would be an office and an incentive area. We would love a place where we can organize all of the donations we receive in a way that our clients could easily view their options of incentives. Attendance to our support group is crucial in helping these women, so it is important they are able to work toward incentive items by attending group support meetings. They can work toward those items for their babies, themselves, or their family.  The other two rooms would be used for support meetings. The young moms would meet in one room, while their children are cared for in the other room.

So there you have it! A mom who definitely rocks her world.  I hope this interview inspired you to take action on a dream of your own and/or it encourages you to help with the needs of Cypress Calling Ministries. Thank you Jenn Simpson! You Rock Mom!

Jenn is 34-year-old wife of her favorite person in the world who flies around the continent for a living. They have a very intelligent, but sweet and caring almost four-year old girl and the most different and unique set of nine month old boy and girl twins. She spent many years of her life doing things she did not really enjoy and then met a wonderful group of women who helped her start a ministry. She has enjoyed the challenge that the ministry has created and finds working for the Lord to be very rewarding. When she is not caring for children or working for the ministry, you will most likely find her in her craft room. She loves all kinds of arts and crafts, but scrapbooking is her favorite! She enjoys spending time with her family, reading, camping, baking, and of course sharing her love for arts and crafts. She feels she has truly been blessed over the years and she looks forward to many more.

Leave a Reply

