ADVENTure Blog Day 6 Choose Joy

“You can have joy because God keeps his promises.” That was the resounding theme in our Kids Ministry at church on Sunday with the theme Bible verse “Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!” Philippians 4:4.

These kids know how to have joy!

Ms. Tammy leads with love and joy!

The Bible story was centered on the foretold birth of John through Zechariah and Elizabeth and how God kept his promise to that birth and ultimately to John being the forerunner of Christ in Luke 1.

I shared with my tween girls that life will happen like getting flooring installed three times in two years of which I’m dealing with right now. And that despite circumstances, we can choose joy. I shared that even though life has been topsy-turvy, I will choose to laugh, eat dark chocolate, and pray!

I didn’t share that I choose joy with puffed pride. I shared it because I’ve had to learn to choose joy despite frustrating circumstances. I know, because I’m one of them, girls can be emotional and dramatic about the circumstances of life. And sometimes their circumstances are very real and painful. But I’ve had to learn to set the feelings aside and trust that God keeps His promises to “Be strong and courageous…Not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord God goes with me; he will never leave me nor forsake me.” Deuteronomy 31:6.

There are countless other promises in scripture that I’ve had to cling to for joy.

The ultimate promises to remember this Christmas season are in Isaiah 7:14 “Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign: The virgin will be with child and will give birth to a son, and will call him Immanuel.” And Isaiah 9:6 “For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”

Choosing Joy!

CHILD’S CHRISTMAS TREE

For a joyful child’s Christmas tree, decorate it with stuffed animals. It brought be great joy decorating these trees for the Kids Ministry.

Leave a Reply

