Adoption ADVENTure Blog Day 8 Faith, Joy, and Grace

This blog post began several weeks ago as I interviewed my dear friend, Kitty, about her families adoption process of three precious little girls. Today this blog will culminate in their legal adoption.

Is not this picture precious of Kitty crying at the adoption hearing with Airetta Joy looking on in concern?

I know it took Kitty’s husband, Don and her whole families’ faith, strength, and love to make this adoption happen, but I will be focusing more on Kitty, because quite frankly, SHE ROCKS!

Kitty is uniquely gifted to love on children. I’ve known her for about 13 years and never knew until today that her major in college was Special Education. How did I miss that?! But I am not surprised, as where Kitty is, you will always find children being loved on.

She truly lives out the verse in Matthew 25:40 that says, “…I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these…, you did for me.” Loving on kids is how Kitty worships God. She is living out her passion and purpose.

Kitty has referenced several scriptures in emails about the girls, of which you’ll find throughout this post.

Kitty, tell me briefly about your girls adoption story.

Kitty's husband, Don and Airetta Joy playing pick-a-boo (Don loves kids as well which makes their marriage so sweet)

I have always wanted to adopt. Ever since I was a little girl I would dream and plan about having an orphanage (with my sister whose part in the dreaming was to have pets for all the kids because she is an animal lover). When I got married my husband knew I wanted about 10 kids in different shades of skin. I think he hoped it was just a dream as he thought two was a good number. But after we had three kids and I still had the dream, he and I talked and prayed for years until we finally agreed on fostering as a kind of compromise. Our first placement was the three most precious little girls–a five-week old, a one year old, and two-year old. We fell in love with them! The next two years were an emotional roller coaster waiting to see what would happen to them but now by the grace of God we are adopting.

What stirs righteous anger in you?

Kitty & Don's six kids. Many hands make light work! (Cameron, Elizabeth & Hannah have caught the vision of loving on kids everywhere they go)

Most people that have a heart for orphans may say that abuse or neglect stir up righteous anger in them. For me, God has given me so much compassion for anyone overwhelmed and without the resources they need to parent.

What brings you joy?

Forgiveness, grace, spending time with my family and friends, and serving God, especially in Zambia (with Family Legacy Missions). Also seeing my kids relationship with God grow brings me great joy.

What past experiences, both good and bad, have shown you about your purpose for adopting?

Katelyn Faith "Thanks be to God for this indescribable gift." II Cor. 9:15

Being a young mother I would just hold our babies and feel so sad for anyone that didn’t have a mom or dad to love them. I grew up in a home where I always felt so loved and cared for and that really made it so easy for me to accept and understand the love my Father in heaven has for me. That is something I wanted to be able to give all my kids–biological and adopted.

What are your spiritual gifts?

Giving, hospitality, singing(jk), and faith.

Again, I’m not surprised at Kitty’s spiritual gifts. She’s one of the most generous people I know. (Wish I had more time and space to share stories of her generosity). Even though she has six kids, she doesn’t let that keep her from entertaining friends and more children in her home. Her faith from childhood to have children of different shades of skin has come to fruition. And the girls middle names of Faith, Joy, and Grace sums their two-plus year journey and Kitty’s passion to love on children.

Kitty, you don’t have to have a beautiful singing voice. Your life of genuine love for children is a beautiful song that I never get tired of hearing.  YOU ROCK, Kitty, YOU ROCK!

Eniya Grace "Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights..." James 1:17

"Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress..." James 1:27

 

Celebrating!

 

New life!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

