ADVENTure Blog Day 9 It’s More Blessed to Give Than to Receive, plus Thankful Thursday!

“…I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ ” Acts 20:35

Our community’s Cotillion group meets once a month and they collect donations each time for the local Boys and Girl’s Country.  In October we collected blue jeans. In November we collected canned goods, and this month we collected toiletries.

What a generous community we have!

The philanthropic committee I’m on has been overwhelmed with the outpouring of donations.

I was in charge of December, including counting all toiletries donated. I’ve been looking for opportunities for my sons to give this holiday season, so what better way to put Zach to service then to have him do the counting, as well as the unloading and loading of the bins from the car!

Out of approximately 100 kids 548 items were donated!

This Saturday, other cotillions with Zach and I, will personally deliver the items to the Boys and Girl’s Country.  They will be able to look into the eyes of kids just like them but who are in need and bless and be blessed by giving.

Which leads me to Thankful Thursday and my counting to one thousand gifts:

62) I’m thankful for opportunities for my kids to participate in giving this Christmas season.

63) For God’s guidance in leading me back to proper health and honoring Him with my body. Even though I stumble, especially this Christmas season, He guides and gives hope for the next meal.

64) For God turning hearts of friends back to one another.

65) That even though our whole flooring is irregular and needs to be replaced for the third time in two years, I still have a floor in a warm home on 66) cold brisk mornings.

67) Relieved that my broken rib is nothing more than a broken rib. Ouch!

68) Sharing in the adoption of three precious little Edwards girls 69) Katelyn Faith, 70) Airetta Joy, and 71) Eniya Grace.

72) Calling the Edwards our friends 73) Don, 74) Kitty, 75) Cameron, 76) Elizabeth, and 77) Hannah. What an inspiration they are!

Leave a Reply

