My Grandma Taught Me the Art of…

Besides my own gracious mother, my Grandma Elsa was one of the most influential women in my life.

From childhood to adulthood, she taught me the art of many life skills.

o      As the virtuous woman in Proverbs 31:17, she taught me the art of “setting about my work vigorously; with arms strong for the task.”

o      She taught me the art of a properly set table with good conversation and manners around that table.

o      She taught me the art of purchasing quality clothes, leather handbags and shoes, as the Proverbs virtuous woman who was clothed in fine linen and purple with strength and dignity.

o      She taught me the art of eating fine pastries from fine bakeries. Palmiers were our favorites but we affectionately called them Pig’s Ears or Donkey Ears.

o      She taught me the art of buying the best you can afford, without using debt, because the item should last a lifetime.

o      Again, as the virtuous woman in Proverbs 31:27, she taught me the art of looking after the affairs of my household and not to eat the bread of idleness.

o      She taught me the art of valuing friendships.

o      She taught me the art of committed marriage until death do us part.

o      She taught me the art of choosing a prime cut of meat.

o      She taught me the art of eating vegetables, fish and to top it off with premium ice cream.

o      She taught me the art of standing tall and proud even though you are the shortest one in the room.

o      She taught me the art of driving an electric grocery cart, even though she knocked over a couple end-caps and ran into a few people in the process.

o      She taught the art of speaking up for your self when sitting in a doctor’s office for hours on end.

o      She taught me the art of stopping and seeing the beautiful colors in the sky and trees as we passed them by.

o      She taught me the art of perspective as we analyzed landscapes, pictures, and paintings.

o      She taught me the art of how a few brushstrokes of paint could add depth and beauty.

o      She taught me how to look at an ordinary subject matter and transform it into a beautiful piece of art.

o      She taught me perseverance and tenacity.

Today, I rise and call my Grandma Elsa BLESSED because she taught me the art of HOPE and to never ever give up.

Below is the last picture I took of my Grandma Elsa on Christmas Day 2010. She put on great-granddaughter, Tori’s, puppy dog slippers and she was being silly, barking like a puppy. It was so cute! We will always cherish Christmas 2010 and the special day we had together.

Amazing Grace!

You Rock Grandma, You Rock! I miss you already!

Leave a Reply

