Chasing Rainbows

Although my son is home sick today, we’ve been chasing rainbows. My husband recently found some prisms from his college days. (No, he wasn’t trippin’!) He hung them in an east facing window to catch the morning sunlight.

As a result, our family area is covered in rainbows on sunny mornings of which my sons quickly notice. Why do I walk on by without even a glimmer of color catching my eyes? But this morning, after noticing my son chasing rainbows, I felt the whim to catch the colors with my camera. First on his feet, his shirt,

the walls,

the refrigerator,

and the counter.

Creativity took over as I played with lighting, objects, and settings on my camera. However, when I transferred my latte from a floral cup to this white latte mug for better affects, I spilled. The spill looked interesting in the rainbow’s light.  I snapped and snapped until I got this shot, reminiscent of the ’80s paint splashes.

But this shot wowed me! I couldn’t believe the image I captured on my camera! Such photography bliss! A cup of rainbows!

Playing with a drinking glass of water reminded me of the rainbow’s color scheme: ROYGBV which stands for red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and violet.

ROYgbv

royGbv

roygBv

roygbV

Although the rainbows are gone until another sunny day, my boy and his dog are basking in the sun’s rays, resting and healing.

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mrsfrisbie
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 12:53:09

    What a cheerful article. The rainbows let me in and now I’m enjoying the depth of your blog. I’m so glad I found you today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

