Faith Photos by LN

Faith photos were my entries today in the monthly PHOTO CONTEST over at Pix-O-Sphere in the Faith category:

True Love by LN by ekhum, on Pix-O-Sphere

If you know me well, you know that the above pictured verses are my life verses (Matthew 22:37-39). I don’t live them perfectly but they are what I will always strive for, sometimes willingly and sometimes with my heels in the sand because, frankly, I don’t always love my neighbor which can be whomever I’m crossing paths with (i.e., a family member, a store clerk, a fellow volunteer, a teacher, a co-worker, etc.) But I believe the Christian life is summed up in these verses.

Advent by LN by ekhum, on Pix-O-Sphere

Each year the season of Advent becomes more and more special to me as my family intentionally focuses on the real reason for the season. I took the above picture some Christmas’ past. The symbolism struck me after the family departed the room. I sat and reflected noticing the candles illuminated the nativity in the background which led my eye up to the symbol of the cross on which Christ died for us. It was a holy experience that led me to keep the nativity on that same chest throughout each year. I see it daily reminding me, beckoning me to look forward to Christ coming for me when I die or His second coming on this earth.

The Bible teaches us that if we ask Jesus to be our Savior from our sin, we have been adopted into the family of God and He forgives our sins!  When Jesus went back to heaven, after His resurrection, He said that He would prepare a place for us (John 14:3), and someday He would come for us so we could live with Him.  Knowing that Jesus has made a special place for us in heaven gives us hope.

When we hope for some big event, like a holiday or a vacation, we don’t forget all about it, do we?!  We don’t just wait for it but we try to be ready for it!  Advent season reminds us that we must be ready. We don’t just want to be ready for Jesus at Christmas—we want to be ready for Him to return at any time.

The way to be ready for Jesus is to believe and love Him, tell others about Him, obey Him, and again love one another, as in my life verse above.

God-breathed by LN by ekhum, on Pix-O-Sphere

And this last photo entry is of the Bible opened to the book of Luke, chapter 2 which tells the story of the birth of Christ. I used it as decoration in the entry-way of our home at Christmas time. But it wasn’t just decoration. The Bible opened here is a symbol of another life verse dear to me: Deuteronomy 6:4-9, “Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.  Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the door frames of your houses and on your gates.”

I highlighted the last sentence because by placing this open Bible in our entry-way, it was a symbol of “writing God’s commandment on the door frames of our house and on our gates.”

How about you? If you took photographs of symbols of your faith what would they be?

Leave a Reply

