I’m Ruined for Zambian Orphans

I’m ruined for Zambian orphans.

Last Saturday my son and I, along with some dear friends, attended our first meeting with Family Legacy Missions for a Camp LIFE trip on June 9th. We will work with orphaned and vulnerable children in a type of day camp on steroids.

Many of the kids are unwanted in a secondary, makeshift home environment, often abused and treated like slaves. These summer camps provide a refuge for thousands of orphans and a place to feel loved and hear God’s truth.

Each of the eight summer camps will have about one thousand kids and my son and I will have 10-15 kids each of our own, along with a Christian translator (Apostle, is their title).

I have to say, I’m sacred. I’m nervous. I’m worried about monies and going to such a needy country. My list goes on. But I’m becoming more scared, nervous, and worried for the Zambian orphans.

Did you realize that: the average life span in Zambia is 38 years old? One out of six children is an orphan in Zambia? Half the country is under 16 years old? There are over one million orphans in Zambia? And Zambia has the highest number of orphans, among other countries? The statistics are staggering.  You can see a detailed video here.

Every child is under attack in this country. At a time in their lives when they should be playing with friends and toys, children are worrying about their next meal. Scripture says in John 10:10 “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy…” Zambia has become Satan’s playground for stealing their next generation. He is showing no mercy on the children of Zambia.

But the second part of John 10:10 says, “I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” This part of the verse is how Camp LIFE and its name was birthed, thus far impacting tens of thousands of orphans with life-changing truths.

Each summer of camps has a theme. This year’s theme is KINGDOM based on Matthew 6:33 “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”

The central point the kids will grasp is that they are not cast-offs, but rather heirs with Christ. They hold the keys to the Kingdom of God as He says in Luke 18:16 “But Jesus called the children to him and said, ‘Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these.'”

When a child has no food or shelter, how do you tell them not to worry, but seek first the Kingdom of God?

I walked away from Saturday’s meeting with that question on my heart, as well as the devastating realization that the orphans will go back into their same abusive and enslaved environments when the camps are over.

While reading Psalms 72 this week, God heard my question and concerns and showed me these specific verses:

72:2 “He will judge your people in righteousness, your afflicted ones with justice.”

72:4 “He will defend the afflicted among the people and save the children of the needy; he will crush the oppressor.”

72:12-14 “For he will deliver the needy who cry out, the afflicted who have no one to help. He will take pity on the weak and the needy and save the needy from death. He will rescue them from the oppression and violence, for precious is their blood in his sight.”

Often times we read scripture like this and think, “Well, hurry up God! Kids are dieing and suffering. Why aren’t you rescuing them now?” God is often waiting for you and me to go and take action. He wants us to “seek first his kingdom”, as well as these children. We’re all apart of his kingdom. We are his ambassadors. He wants us to create the ripple effect of one drop of water in a pond, affecting child, after child, after child, after child, after child…

You can make a difference too. Please join my son and I as ambassadors for God’s kingdom by donating HERE.  Not only will it provide for our travel expenses but it will provide for the 10-15 kids we each will disciple at Camp LIFE.

Our total costs are $7400 combined. Thus far we’ve raised $4,060.50. We have a $3,339.50 remaining balance due by April 1st. Please prayerfully consider supporting us HERE.

Each step of the fundraising way, I’ve doubted, but God has provided beyond my expectations. So I’m adding my thanks to God’s provision in my Thankful Thursday counting to one thousand gifts:

123) I’m thankful for God’s provision for my son and I to be ambassadors to orphans in Zambia.

124) God’s written Word that comes alive!

125) His promises to “defend the afflicted and needy.”

126) He chooses to use us as His ambassadors.

127) A night of worship with our church family.

128) Modern day medicine to help speed up healing for my boys and pain relief for my back.

129) A caring, giving husband.

130) Extra time with my sons, even though they were sick.

131) I’m ruined for Zambian orphans which is stretching my faith beyond measure.

Leave a Reply

