Sacred Architecture by LN

During the Advent season I blogged about the below photos of Christ Church Cathedral in Downtown Houston at ADVENTure Blog Day 19 Sacred Architecture. However, today I’m entering these photos in the monthly PHOTO CONTEST over at Pix-O-Sphere in the Architecture category.

Of the pictures I took, this simple Christogram in a Moorish style window stood out to me most.

Christogram by LN by ekhum, on Pix-O-Sphere

According to Wikipedia, “a Christogram is a monogram or combination of letters that forms an abbreviation for the name of Jesus Christ, traditionally used as a Christian symbol… In the Latin-speaking Christianity of medieval Western Europe (and so among Catholics and many Protestants today), the most common Christogram is “IHS” or “IHC”, denoting the first three letters of the Greek name of Jesus, iotaetasigma, or ΙΗΣ. The Greek letter iota is represented by I, and the eta by H, while the Greek letter sigma is either in its lunate form, represented by C, or its final form, represented by S.

But to me, it’s a sacred window that points to Christ and reminds me that we are His when we believe on him as our Savior.

Chapel by LN by ekhum, on Pix-O-Sphere

This photo is also sacred, especially when I took, as there was a priest leading a chapel service behind those closed doors.

Sacred Cathedral by LN by ekhum, on Pix-O-Sphere

Taken in the courtyard of the Cathedral, this photo highlights the stained glass, architecture, and the beautiful landscaping.

Sacred architecture, sacred moments. God is the architect of my life, my body–His Spirit’s temple.

Leave a comment