Fitness Friday – Nothing Tastes as Good as Healthy Feels

Have you heard this motto? “Nothing tastes as good as thin feels.” This motto is actually chided in some media circles because it encourages teenage anorexia.  It doesn’t work for me, because frankly, I like food too much.

I need mottos with substance, kind of like food with substance. How about this motto instead, “Nothing Tastes as Good as Healthy Feels” I’m liking that motto better because it makes me focus on nutritious food, instead of empty calories.

As I’ve said in the past, on Fridays I start feeling my food-guard go down.  I want to unwind, not really cook a huge meal, and reward myself with food.  I could easily gather my pizzeria coupons and order pizza which I have done often.

A healthier option that I actually chose tonight was to make my own pizza. My bread machine has a dough cycle, so I was able to add herbs to the crust. I made one spinach pizza and the other pizza was half cheese and half meat for my guys. They were delicious! I took one bite of the meat pizza and feasted on the spinach pizza.

Instead of spending money for extra calories, I can actually say “Nothing Tastes as Good as Healthy Feels” tonight, with healthier pizza options.

Here’s my Spinach Pizza recipe:

Ingredients:

  • Homemade dough, or pre-bought dough (can buy in freezer section or from a pizzeria), or pre-bought pizza crust
  • Jarred or canned sauce
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Garlic Powder
  • Cracked Pepper
  • Box of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and well-drained with strainer and paper towels
  • Mozzarella (use sparingly for that “healthy feeling”)
  • Parmesan

Directions:

  • If you make your own dough, add about 1 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • Roll out dough with flour and pre-bake on pan for 10 min. at 400 degrees (I use a pizza stone)
  • Top dough with about 1/4 cup of sauce
  • Sprinkle a light layer of mozzarella cheese
  • Season with cracked pepper, Italian seasoning, and garlic powder
  • Sprinkle drained, squeezed spinach
  • Add another layer of mozzarella and parmesan cheese
  • Bake for 10-15 min. at 400 degrees or until cheese begins to bubble and lightly brown.

I think next time, I will put the pizza directly on the rack, since I pre-bake the crust.  I should get a crisper crust with that method.

I also made a little olive oil dipping sauce for the crust. 🙂 Probably shouldn’t have but it was better than the garlic butter that comes with many pizza chains.

To eat more nutritious this weekend remember, “Nothing Tastes as Good as Healthy Feels.”

Leave a Reply

