She Can Laugh at the Days to Come

I stepped out of the shower into an inch of water on the bathroom floor. I made a water-wake, as I sloshed my way to the plugged sink where the water was gently cascading onto the floor. I quickly unplugged the sink and all the electrical cords.  The drawer under the sink was full of water with toothbrush, dental floss, and other hygiene items floating about.

I had turned the water on hot and plugged the sink to warm up my nasal rinse. (I know, too much information!) I then turned on the shower, forgetting about the running water in the sink, thus the flood that ensued while I obviously showered for 15 minutes or so.

Under the sink, items were soaked through with labels rippling on bathroom cleaner bottles, ace bandages soaked, travel kits drenched, and the like. This, of course, was my husband’s sink, not mine.

Water was now seeping into the bedroom carpet outside the bath. I used every towel I could to sop up the water but they hardly made a difference. I frantically ran out to my bedroom to get more towels from a laundry basket, when I realized I was still stark naked with hair dripping wet. Hoping my boys wouldn’t catch me naked and in a panic, I ran back into the bathroom and threw more towels at the mass of water on the floor.

Suddenly I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror and began to laugh. It wasn’t a giggle but a full-out laugh that I couldn’t stop. A crying laugh. I just kept sopping, laughing, and pulling out items from under the sink, until I realized all the towels were really wet and heavy. I knew I couldn’t carry them through the house to the laundry room. They weighed a ton, soaked in 15 minutes worth of running water!

I rationalized that I needed to get dressed and recruit some help.  We were a couple of hours from leaving town for spring break and my Love was out doing some banking. I wanted to sop up as much water as possible before he discovered the damage! After dressing, I desperately pleaded with my son to help me wring towels before we drug them to the washing machine. This is the only successful photo I took that frantic morning. I’m so thankful for a strong young son. He enjoyed laughing right along with me!

But when my Love returned, he didn’t see the humor in the situation. He discovered the water had seeped under the wall into his office, so he had to tear off some floor boards and get some heavy-duty fans running. He, however, was very gracious.

This was not our first experience with water damage, as we had just recovered from broken water heater damage causing us to replace flooring throughout common areas of our home (again, right before a trip that had to be cancelled). Fortunately, this instance was on a tile floor! We’ve also suffered water damage from a hurricane, causing us to lose the east side of our roof with thousands of dollars worth of water damage.

After my mini flood, we were able to go off and enjoy our spring break. But the day before this happened I shared with a group of young moms how I had been through some major trials, including two trying home refurbishments. God had given me the verse in Proverbs 31:25 “She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.” I shared how God showed me that no matter what I face, He will always be with me, he clothes me with strength and dignity as I go through it, and I can even laugh at the days to come.

Little did I know, I would be living out that verse the very next day! The floor boards have not been replaced yet, so every day I’m reminded, “I can laugh at the days to come.” No matter what you, my friend, are facing today, God is with you, he clothes you with strength and dignity, and he enables you to laugh at the days to come.

Be blessed, friend. Be blessed.

The She Speaks Conference is about women connecting the hearts of women to the heart of our Father God, as He leads their hearts to serve Him and His daughters. Oh, this is my hope and prayer through this blog. You can have the opportunity to win a scholarship to this event through Ann Voskamp’s website A Holy Experience, so you too can connect the hearts of women to the heart of God.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 11:06:44

    Just another day on the farm!:)

    Reply

  2. Vicky
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 20:11:52

    Love those moments when all we can do is laugh. Your words are a great reminder that God gave us laughter. I too had a flood but you seem to have handled it much better than I did……… and found God in it!

    Reply

  3. Melanie
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 08:46:15

    Wonderful perspective! 🙂 Poor thing though!!!! Hope everything is dry and repaired now.

    Blessings!
    Melanie

    Reply

  4. mrsfrisbie
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 11:14:37

    Oh that GOD for laughter and you are an amazing woman for showing your strength in that situation. Thanks for sharing that with us, and reminding us that God is in everything.

    Reply

    • You Rock Mom
      Apr 05, 2011 @ 14:41:20

      Thanks for the sweet comment. Just found some bowing on the floor by the front door this week! The saga continues on our floors! But I can laugh at the days to come!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

