A Beautiful Thing

I am unsettled about my attempted 40 day fast of chocolate and Facebook for Lent. Why? I only caved on chocolate a few times and didn’t engage on Facebook, but that’s not the point. I believe I’m sensing God wanted something deeper, not from my actions but from my heart.

He revealed what “more” he wanted while I read in the book of Matthew. I came upon the passage in chapter 26:6-13 of the woman with an alabaster jar full of very expensive perfume. She lovingly poured it on Jesus’ head. Others were indignant and outraged at such a “waste” of money but Jesus came to her defense and said she had done “a beautiful thing“.

Alabaster Jar by ekhum, on Pix-O-Sphere

My unsettled heart exposed. My fast was not “a beautiful thing.”

Sure, I didn’t turn to chocolate when stressed, but I turned to alternate food vices. Sure, I spent less time on the computer, but I often filled it with selfish ambitions. My fast was not a true sacrifice, like the woman with her alabaster jar.

You see, I only gave up chocolate but I wasn’t willing to give up all sweets. I only gave up Facebook but not other social networks, trying to build my writing goals. I wasn’t willing to give it all up.

My heart is not only unsettled but unclean, the very reason Christ died for me.

Although I may look spiritual on the outside for fasting, this Good Friday I am reminded how sinfully selfish my heart is. I am no different than the heartless who put Christ to death–a sinner just the same.

Christ bore a horrific death for my sins, your sins. (Matthew 26:47-27:61Mark 14:42-15:47Luke 22:47-23:56, and John 18-19).

But it doesn’t end there! The resurrection is coming! The telling of Christ’s resurrection on Easter and the resurrection from my sin, guilt and shame, as I confess my divided heart.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16

Now that’s “a beautiful thing!” I believe!

Spring Cross by ekhum, on Pix-O-Sphere

Leave a Reply

