Sore Buttocks

Today I texted my physical trainer and said, “My buttocks is sore because of u.”

She texted back with, “That makes me happy <:)>”.

To which I said, “I thought it would. :)”  But I really wanted to stick my tongue out at her!

Yesterday one of the exercises she had me do was three sets of 20 squats with arm curls using a medicine ball.  And today I’m feeling it!

Recently, I heard a friend say, “We all have knowledge of how to lose weight and live healthier. But wisdom is actually applying what we know and doing it.”

That quote has played over and over in my head for the last couple weeks.

I looked up “wisdom” on Dictionary.com and it said:

“the quality or state of being wise;  knowledge of what is true or right coupled with just judgment as to action.”

So there you have it! Wisdom is actually coupling knowledge and action. That’s not to say we can’t hire a trainer for some help and motivation. But if the finances just aren’t there, there’s enough knowledge in books, on the internet, and with successful friends that can help motivate us into action.

Sure, I’ve hired a trainer to keep me accountable and teach me some strength training exercises. My husband graciously agreed to budget it for me. But I’ve also lost 20 pounds in the past just counting calories and using walking as my main form of exercise.  I didn’t just know what to do, but I used wisdom in daily applying what to do by journaling food intake and moving.

This time around has been more difficult for me to use wisdom. For one, I really got out of the habit of food journaling. And quite frankly, the little girl in me wants what I want and now! She also wants to stick her tongue at her trainer. But honestly, that thinking is immature. It’s not using wisdom.

It’s time to grow up, put on my big girl panties, and use wisdom to apply the knowledge I already have, sore buttocks and all!

“She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.” Proverbs 31:25

Leave a Reply

