Thankful for Mothers

Counting to One Thousand Gifts, I am thankful for mothers (207).

I thought this mama duck lost some of her ducklings to a predator. One day she had eight chicks.

The next day I counted five.

Then I happened upon eight ducklings today. I was confused, until I walked further down the pond.

I realized there are two mammas, two families, 13 ducks total!

Each duckling knew their mother and each responded to the sound of their mamma’s squawk. She called they came. She paddled, they paddled. She snacked on bread, they snacked on bread.

They knew their boundaries and obeyed quickly. Oh for children who would respond so quickly.

Here’s to my mamma (208). Forgive me for not obeying and responding so quickly when I was a wee chick. You truly are the Proverbs 31 woman.

Proverbs 31:28 “Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her.”

Leave a Reply

