Thankful Thursday – Gone Fishing!

Counting to One Thousand Gifts, I am thankful for 224) “FISH!” And for 225) DaySpring generously giving me this pictured wall hanging of a carved fish (or ichthys) made from beautiful mango wood. The carving detail and overall beauty of this solid piece makes it ideal for anywhere in the home.

Instead of hanging it, I placed it on my entry side table as a symbol and statement of faith.  Joshua 24:15b says, “But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.” This verse is my heart’s desire, and this ichthys speaks that desire to all who are welcomed in my home and family.

The ichthys (which is the Greek word for “fish”) was the early Christian’s symbol of faith.

Fish are mentioned many times in the Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke and John). Several of Jesus’ twelve disciples were fishermen. He commissioned them with the words “I will make you fishers of men.” Thus Christianity began.

According to New World Encyclopedia, some say (but it is not a proven fact) the fish symbol protected societies of Christian congregations by keeping their meetings secret from persecution by Romans in the first century. The symbol would point the way to ever-changing meeting places. They developed a symbol which would readily be recognized, and which they could scratch on rocks, in advance of a meeting, on tombs, or to distinguish friends from foes. One ancient explanation, still popular today :

“…when a Christian met a stranger in the road, the Christian sometimes drew one arc of the simple fish outline in the dirt. If the stranger drew the other arc, both believers knew they were in good company. Current bumper-sticker and business-card uses of the fish hearken back to this practice. The symbol is still used today to show that the bearer is a practicing Christian.”

I enjoy decorating and gift giving with symbols of faith of such deep meaning. That’s why I enjoy DaySpring’s (in)spired deals, where they have exclusive deals and beautiful product.

Not only did DaySpring give me this Ichthus for review, they are allowing me to do a GIVEAWAY for YOU! A $20 coupon giveaway!

Just subscribe to my blog and make a comment on this post before midnight on Sunday, May 22. On Monday, May 23 I’ll announce the winner!

I look forward to hearing from you!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    May 20, 2011 @ 09:05:47

    I love all of the contents that you’ve written today!

    Reply

  2. JUDY MAYDWELL
    May 20, 2011 @ 12:12:46

    Nice item, and good article. Love you and your dad and I prayed for you trip this morning. Safety, peace and to be a blessing to the children you minister to. Life changing journey for you and Zachary.

    Reply

  3. Bobbie
    May 20, 2011 @ 14:26:12

    I’m sorry we didn’t get to talk last night but I look forward to following your blog!

    Reply

  4. Tammy
    May 22, 2011 @ 20:01:33

    I enjoy your blog so much…it feeds my soul.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

