Thankful Thursday – Simplify

I keep this sign hung over a mirror in our bedroom–a continual reminder. It’s easy to get caught up in this world, keeping up with the Jones, busyness, etc.

Counting to One Thousand Gifts, I am thankful for:

236) Simplicity.

In preparation for our trip to Zambia with Family Legacy, we were told to simplify our jewelry and attire, so as not to appear flashy with our wealth.

Most of us, including myself, don’t consider ourselves wealthy but well-fed, well, uh comfortable. Okay, by this entire world’s standard of living, we are wealthy.

We were also told to bring a family photo but not in front of our house or cars, again, so as not to show off our wealth.

We were told to remove diamond rings and wear a simple wedding band.

237) I am thankful for a husband who takes our vows and commitment seriously, as he made sure I have a band to wear on my travels.

My wedding ring

My simplified wedding band

238) As I shed the outward (pretensions as well) I feel a simplicity taking over my heart. A simplicity that is letting go of this world, its creature comforts, and status symbols. I’m putting on a simplified heart, simplified hands, a simplified me to serve those in need.

289) This simplicity is difficult and stretching. My mind is clinging to comfort. But I’m thankful for it.

290) My faith, my heart is growing to deeper depths and higher heights.

“Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.” James 1:27

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 08:56:35

    Ellen, the words you described in today’s post is exactly what has been playing around in my mind for a few days “simplicity”. I have been asking myself, “Why do I strive for more, when I am truly happy and blessed in the simple things of life?” Thanks for putting into words of how blessed we truly are with and without all of the stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

