Everything Changes – When You Hold Them in Your Arms

David Platt in his book Radical says, “We learned that orphans are easier to ignore before you know their names. They are easier to ignore before you see their faces. It is easier to pretend they’re not real before you hold them in your arms. But once you do, everything changes.”

After laying my eyes on these young boys for the first time, everything changed.

Little Matthews was always at the front of the line showing his attitude

Even though we were all tentative with one another on day one, by days end they had already woven their way into my heart.

Bubbles!





My two Zambian partners Pamela and Paul were amazing! And the 10 boys whose faces are forever etched upon my heart. I pray to go back next year and could have them in my group again. Counting the days!

Zach playing with his boys

One of Zach's boys

The first of five goodbyes. Each day got more and more difficult.

Saying goodbye to Zach's boys


4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy Faber-Poynor
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 21:08:14

    okay, I am in…I want to go next year!

    Reply

  2. Lizzy Edwards
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 17:07:04

    I love that quote! Absolutely true! I’m so glad you and Zach came! It was wonderful to see the two of you fall in love with your kids 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

