Salsa with a Twist

If you know me well, you know that when I eat Mexican food I prefer fajitas or a fajita salad. One of my weekly standby dinner recipes is taco salad with warmed fresh tortillas for the guys (I’m cutting back on carbs). I don’t really eat Mexican or spicy food. My stomach doesn’t like the spice, bell or jalapeño peppers, I’m allergic to avocados (not pretty), and believe it or not, I don’t like beans.

However, I can’t get enough of this salsa!

The recipe is derived from an online recipe for Tito’s Tacos. This taco dive was an old high school haunt that is still in W. Los Angeles today. But my sister-in-law doesn’t think it’s their original recipe after just traveling there. However, it’s close.

I altered the recipe to fit my tastes. For example, I really like cilantro and lime, so I added those two ingredients.

Possible Tito’s Tacos Salsa with You Rock Mom’s Twist:

Ingredients:

  • 8 Roma tomatoes cut up
  • 2 pickled jalapeños from small can (Wimp here uses 1!)
  • 2-3 pickled carrots from same can
  • 1-2 tbsp liquid from same can (I use 1 tbsp 😉 )
  • 1 slice of white onion
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice (I use lime juice instead)
  • 1 tsp salt (I like sea salt)
  • 1/4 tsp pepper (or a few grinds of fresh ground pepper)
  • 1 tsp sugar (I think my sister-in-law uses an apple slice instead)

Blend all ingredients together until smooth.  Add more from the can if you need it hotter. (I’m sure you will! I will not!) Let it sit for an hour in the refrigerator before serving.

For taco salad dressing, I mix about a tablespoon of sour cream and a couple of tablespoons of salsa. Yum!

For gifting, I like to give a jar of salsa with twine tied around it, along with a salsa bowl, and a decorative spoon.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

